The Cutaway by Christina Kovac Review



The Newsroom meets Gone Girl.” —Cosmopolitan

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone GirlLuckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little LiesThe Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page.






Review

The Cutaway

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Knightly is a producer for a news network. She also has a troubled history with her family and basically a photographic memory. Those traits cause her to focus more on aspects that others might overlook. She sees a piece on a missing woman and can’t let it go. Most everyone in her life seems to be trying to hinder her digging deeper into the woman’s story. Murder, mystery, politics, detectives, witnesses and more come into play. She isn’t a cop, but she is an investigative journalist out to connect the answers and expose the coverups. She’s a likable lead, and the storyline is great at keeping the reader hooked and guessing. Anyone could be guilty. The Cutaway was a win for me, and I’m definitely going to be following this author’s future works.

***copy given in exchange for an honest review***

FGMAMTC 

Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents

var addthis_config = {“data_track_addressbar”:true};//s7.addthis.com/js/300/addthis_widget.js#pubid=ra-52700b5c57e11f8c

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s